Skip to main content


Gateway to campus

Dec 18, 2017

Faculty Inventors Honored

Two faculty members at NC State are being named fellows by the National Academy of Inventors (NAI): Donald L. Bitzer, Distinguished University Research Professor of Computer Science, and William Ditto, professor of physics. 

The NC State gateway.

Dec 12, 2017

NC State Physicist Elected as a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science

John Thomas, the John S. Risley Distinguished Professor in NC State's Department of Physics, received one of the nation’s most prestigious scientific honors “for groundbreaking contributions to the study of ultra-cold atomic Fermi gases, in particular measurements of the equation of state and of transport properties." He is among 396 scientists to be honored this year by AAAS. 

Dec 5, 2017

His Disease, His Mission

Undeterred by a devastating diagnosis, NC State scientist Michael Bereman is taking the battle to ALS. 

Belltower with fall leaves

Dec 4, 2017

Narayan Effort Recognized through R&D 100 Awards

Dr. Jagdish Narayan, John C.C. Fan Distinguished Professor in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at NC State, and the company spun out from his invention Q-carbon, Q-Carbon LLC, were honored by the prestigious science and technology innovation awards program. 

Nov 21, 2017

Sederoff Papers Available to Researchers

The NCSU Libraries Special Collections Research Center announced its receipt of the Ron Sederoff Papers, now available to researchers. Sederoff, an internationally known forestry and environmental resources expert who joined NC State's faculty in 1987, is currently Emeritus Distinguished University Professor and Edwin F. Conger Professor of Forestry and Environmental Resources. 

Nov 8, 2017

Zikry receives ASME Robert Henry Thurston Lecture Award

Dr. Mohammed Zikry, the Zan Prevost Smith Professor in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at NC State and an international leader in micromechanics modeling, has been named the recipient of the 2017 Robert Henry Thurston Lecture Award from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. 

Sep 29, 2017

Let There Be Light – The Path to No Microbes

Dr. Dimitris Argyropoulos, Finland Distinguished Professor of Chemistry in the College of Natural Resources' Department of Forest Biomaterials, and two other faculty members are creating the company Lumicide. It will produce an innovative nontoxic, green additive for an antimicrobial paint activated by air and light. Painted surfaces, like doorknobs, will kill microbes, viruses and fungi on contact -- ideal for places like hospitals, cruise ships and home nurseries. 

Sep 29, 2017

New Manufacturing Process Opens Market to More Competition

NC State researchers led by Jay Baliga, Distinguished University Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, are rolling out a new manufacturing process and chip design for silicon carbide (SiC) power devices, which can be used to more efficiently regulate power in technologies that use electronics. 

Sep 25, 2017

Interactive Tool Offers Window Into History of Arab-Americans in NYC

A new interactive site developed by NC State's Moise A. Khayrallah Center for Lebanese Diaspora Studies helps scholars and the public understand the long history of Syrian and Lebanese immigrants to the United States. Focused on New York City in the early 20th century, the tool highlights the growth of Arab-American communities in the city and their integration into American life. 

College of Engineering aerial view

Sep 18, 2017

DeSimone Named Recipient of 22nd Heinz Award

Joseph DeSimone, the William R. Kenan Jr. Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering at NC State and Chancellor’s Eminent Professor of Chemistry at UNC-Chapel Hill, has been named the recipient of the 22nd Heinz Award in the Technology, the Economy and Employment category.