Skip to main content


May 10, 2017

Extraordinary Faculty

They sacrifice their lunch breaks to help with homework. They provide career guidance. They are a crucial source of support and perspective. The College of Agriculture and Life Sciences faculty honored by students through the NC State Thank a Teacher program skyrocket past expectations. 

Feb 6, 2017

Family’s Generosity Supports Students, Faculty

A faculty member and a student at NC State are both pursuing their academic passions thanks to the philanthropy of the late John Risley — a longtime professor at the university — and his family. 

Sep 14, 2016

Missing the Mark on Mosquitoes

In a new Science article, Jennifer Kuzma, the Goodnight-North Carolina GlaxoSmithKline Foundation Distinguished Professor in Social Sciences in the School of Public and International Affairs (SPIA), argues that federal authorities are missing an opportunity to revise outdated regulatory processes not fit for modern innovations in biotechnology. 

Jul 20, 2016

Gookin Named FluoroScience Distinguished Professor in Veterinary Scholars Research Education

Dr. Jody Gookin, a faculty member in the College of Veterinary Medicine's Department of Clinical Sciences, has been named the FluoroScience Distinguished Professor in Veterinary Scholars Research. 

Memorial Belltower lit up red

Jul 18, 2016

Professorships Created in Electrical and Computer Engineering as Investment

Cirrus Logic, and its president and CEO Dr. Jason Rhode (electrical and computer engineering, M.S. ’93 and Ph.D. ’95), have continued to build their support of NC State's College of Engineering by creating a distinguished professorship and term professorship. 

Jun 23, 2016

The Fly Whisperer

Pioneering geneticist Trudy Mackay's work with fruit flies is influencing scientists around the world and leading to important discoveries. Mackay is the William Neal Reynolds and University Distinguished Professor in NC State’s College of Sciences. 

belltower lit red

May 6, 2016

Edwards Named Angel Family Distinguished Professor

Dr. Jack R. Edwards, a member of the NC State faculty since 1994, has been named the Angel Family Distinguished Professor in the Department Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering. 

College of Engineering aerial view

May 6, 2016

Jaselskis Named E.I. Clancy Distinguished Professor

Dr. Edward Jaselskis, an NC State faculty member since 2011, has been named the E.I. Clancy Distinguished Professor in the Department of Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering. 

May 6, 2016

Piedrahita Named as the Randall B. Terry, Jr. Distinguished Professor in Translational Medicine

Dr. Jorge A. Piedrahita, a member of the Department of Molecular Biomedical Sciences in the College of Veterinary Medicine for 14 years, has been named the Randall B. Terry Jr. Distinguished Professor in Translational Medicine. 

Johnston County farm corn field.

Mar 7, 2016

Block that Pollen

William Neal Reynolds and Distinguished University Professor of Crop Science Major Goodman, and graduate student Zachary Jones, identify “pollen blockers” in corn that can prevent organic corn from being pollinated by genetically modified plants.