Skip to main content

Watauga Medal

The Memorial Belltower podcast logo.

Mar 19, 2024

Podcast: Wolfpack Philanthropy With Gayle Lanier

On this episode of the NC State Philanthropy Podcast, we’re joined by NC State alumna and supporter Gayle Lanier to discuss why giving back to the university is so important to her. 

Cathy Sigal, Tom Stafford and Mike Constantino — second, third and fourth from the left on the front row, respectively — pose for a photo with past Watauga Medal recipients, members of the NC State University Foundation’s Board of Trustees and other university leaders at the 2023 ceremony. Photo by Marc Hall

Sep 18, 2023

Three 2023 Watauga Medal Recipients Honored

NC State’s highest nonacademic honor, the Watauga Medal recognizes members of the Wolfpack who have made extraordinary contributions to the university’s advancement. The 2023 honorees — Mike Constantino, Cathy Sigal and Tom Stafford — certainly met the criteria. 

Brenda Brickhouse, Bill Culpepper, and Jerry Jackson standing together wearing Watauga medals.

Mar 15, 2022

2022 Watauga Medal Ceremony Recognizes Three Extraordinary Pack Members

NC State’s Board of Trustees presented three alumni with the Watauga Medal, the university’s highest nonacademic honor, during a March 4 ceremony held in the ballroom at Talley Student Union. As the 2022 medalists, Brenda Brickhouse, Bill Culpepper and Jerry Jackson joined a group of 126 previous honorees who have made notable and dedicated contributions to the advancement of NC State. 

Watauga medal winners over the years gathered together

Mar 24, 2020

Meet the 2020 Watauga Medal Winners

Alumni Steve Angel, Kady Gjessing and Nancy Ridenhour receive NC State's highest nonacademic honor for their decades of service and generosity to the university. 

Charles and Marjorie Flink

Mar 4, 2019

Flink to Receive Watauga Medal

Read reactions to Chuck Flink becoming the fifth College of Design alumnus to receive NC State's Watauga Medal. He will be presented with his medal at the Founders' Day celebration March 8. 

Belltower glowing red at night in traffic

Feb 25, 2019

Three to Receive Watauga Medal

On March 8, NC State will award its highest nonacademic honor to alumni S. Frank Culberson, Charles A. Flink II and James A. Stewart. The Watauga Medal, given annually by the Board of Trustees since 1975, recognizes extraordinary service and commitment to the university. 

Mar 6, 2018

NC State Honors Two with Prestigious Watauga Medal

William K. “Bill” Collins Sr. and Benjamin P. “Ben” Jenkins III named the 2018 recipients of the Watauga Medal, NC State University’s highest nonacademic honor. 

Mar 10, 2016

2016 Watauga Medal Honors Two for Service and Commitment

Barbara H. Mulkey and George L. Worsley Jr. received NC State University’s highest nonacademic honor Monday evening, March 7, during the annual Founders’ Day observance. 

Lynn Eury and Judi Grainger pause for a photo with Chancellor Randy Woodson at the conclusion of the 2015 Founders' Day and Watauga Medal Celebration.

Mar 5, 2015

Two Top NC State Volunteers and Donors Honored with the 2015 Watauga Medal

NC State awarded its highest nonacademic honor to alumni Lynn Eury and Judi Grainger during the annual Founders’ Day ceremony and dinner held Monday evening, March 2, in the Talley Student…