Skip to main content


The Memorial Belltower lit red

Jun 3, 2024

Faculty Excellence Abounds

NC State honored 41 faculty members, several of whom are distinguished professors, during the 2024 Celebration of Faculty Excellence. Chancellor Randy Woodson also presented the Alexander Quarles Holladay Medal for Excellence, NC State’s highest award recognizing faculty achievement, to three distinguished professors during the event. 

The Memorial Belltower

May 20, 2024

Oralkan, Augustyn Receive Alcoa Research Awards

Omer Oralkan, professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, and Veronica Augustyn, associate professor and Jake and Jennifer Hooks Distinguished Scholar in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, have been honored for their research work by the College of Engineering with Alcoa Foundation Awards. 

Clouds behind the Memorial Belltower

Apr 29, 2024

Four Faculty Members Win Outstanding Research Award, Induction to Research Leadership Academy

Four NC State faculty members, including several distinguished professors, won the university’s top award for research and mentorship in 2024, highlighting their exceptional contributions to their respective fields. The Outstanding Research Award recognizes faculty who lead in their areas of expertise; empower the success of their fellow NC State faculty; and advance an intellectual, multidisciplinary research community. 

Seven members of NC State's faculty and staff

Apr 29, 2024

Faculty and Staff Receive Awards From NC State Global

Louis Martin-Vega Dean, Professors of Chemical Engineering Laura Bottomley and Richard Spontak were recently recognized as part of NC State Global’s 2024 Honors and Awards Luncheon. Bottomley was named Outstanding Global Engagement Award Senior Faculty Recipient, and Spontak was named Jackson Rigney International Service Award Recipient. 

Nicki Peterson displays her Extraordinary Spirit Award outside Park Shops.

Apr 22, 2024

DASA Executive Director of Development Nicki Peterson Wins Extraordinary Spirit Award

Over the course of her 19 years at NC State, Nicki Peterson, the Division of Academic and Student Affairs’ executive director of development, has strived to provide her colleagues with every opportunity possible to grow and develop. At University Advancement’s awards ceremony on April 11, Peterson’s efforts were recognized as she received the Extraordinary Spirit Award. 

The Alexander Quarles Holladay Medal for Excellence

Apr 8, 2024

Four Faculty Win Holladay Medal

Four faculty members received the Alexander Quarles Holladay Medal for Excellence, the highest honor bestowed by NC State and the university’s Board of Trustees. Chancellor Randy Woodson will recognize the awardees, including three distinguished professors, during the Celebration of Faculty Excellence on April 30. 

Nancy Webster standing at a podium on stage at the 2024 CASE Awards

Feb 5, 2024

Nancy Webster ’75 Honored With the CASE District III Bill Franklin Volunteer of the Year Award

In honor of the remarkable legacy she has created as a seasoned service leader, Wilson College of Textiles alumna Nancy Webster was named the recipient of the 2024 Bill Franklin Volunteer of the Year Award, presented by the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) District III. 

Frank Buckless and Doug Doggett at the Evening of Stars gala

Nov 13, 2023

Doug Doggett ’83 Receives Poole College’s Distinguished Alumni Award

In recognition of his career success and outstanding support of Poole College and NC State, the lifelong entrepreneur and family business owner was honored with the prestigious award. 

Dean Jim Pfaendtner, left, is shown with 2023 Distinguished Engineering Alumni Award recipients, from left, Admiral Daryl L. Caudle, Deborah Bell Young and Robert E. Troxler.

Oct 27, 2023

Three Honored as Distinguished Engineering Alumni

Three College of Engineering graduates and committed supporters — Admiral Daryl L. Caudle, Robert E. Troxler and Deborah Bell Young — received the Distinguished Engineering Alumni Award as part of NC State’s Red and White Week 2023. The award was established by the college’s faculty in 1966 and is the highest honor bestowed upon alumni. 

The campus gateway at dusk

Oct 27, 2023

Physicist McLaughlin Wins Feshbach Prize

The American Physical Society has awarded Gail McLaughlin, Distinguished University Professor of Physics, the 2024 Herman Feshbach Prize in Theoretical Nuclear Physics.