Skip to main content

Author: Staff


Jun 20, 2022

NC State Prague Supports Ukrainian Refugees

The NC State European Center in Prague was holding its Classic Spring program when Ukrainian refugees began entering the Czech Republic in February. Since the program was not at capacity at the time, NC State students and faculty chose to welcome Ukrainian students into the program’s facilities so they could learn and live in safety during the conflict. 

Taleek Harlee, Sarah Hall, Niambé James and Patsy McKee are the 2022 Mathews Medal recipients.

Jun 20, 2022

Four Students Receive Mathews Medals

As the highest non-academic distinction awarded to NC State students, the Mathews Medal honors graduating seniors who have served as student leaders and made significant contributions to the advancement of the university. The 2021-22 award recipients included two Goodnight Scholars. 

copper wolves on Wolf Plaza

Jun 20, 2022

NC State Names 42 Students to Park Scholarships Program

NC State recently announced its 27th class of Park Scholars, which includes 42 students representing nine states and 20 North Carolina counties. The Park program provides a four-year scholarship valued at approximately $116,000 for in-state students and $208,000 for out-of-state students. 

The Memorial Belltower

Jun 20, 2022

Brown Family Establishes IEI’s First Endowment

The Institute for Emerging Issues (IEI) recently announced its first endowment, created via a gift from the Tony McLean Brown family in honor of the IEI National Advisory Board. The gift will produce annual income to be used at the discretion of the director of the institute, which has a mission of bringing North Carolinians together to find solutions to critical issues in order to make the state more vibrant and prosperous. 

Dr. Spyros Pavlidis in front of Reynolds Coliseum and Talley Student Union

Jun 20, 2022

Dr. Spyros Pavlidis Receives the 2021-22 R. Ray Bennett Faculty Fellow Award

The R. Ray Bennett Faculty Fellow Award provides support for high-achieving young faculty in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering such as Assistant Professor Spyros Pavlidis. This recognition includes a $40,000 cash award and is presented annually by the ECE Department thanks to Alice B. Bennett, who endowed the faculty fellowship in memory of her son. 

Carol McNeel in front of "The Necessary"

Jun 20, 2022

When Nature Calls, A Necessary Gift Comes Through

Often mistaken for a small church, shop or market, a quaint blue cottage containing restroom facilities is cleverly hidden in the back corner of the JC Raulston Arboretum between the conifer collection and Elm Circle. Aptly named “The Necessary,” this building will receive a much-needed update thanks to the generosity of Carol McNeel. 

NC State University Dinah E. Gore Teaching and Research Kitchens signage

Jun 20, 2022

Dinah E. Gore Kitchen Pantry Dedicated to Dunn

The Dinah E. Gore Teaching and Research Kitchens pantry now bears the name of Dr. Carolyn Dunn, William Neal Reynolds Distinguished Professor and former head of the Department of Agricultural and Human Science. The naming honors the service and dedication of Dunn, one of the major drivers behind the vision for boosting the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences’ work in foods and nutrition by creating a state-of-the-art teaching and research kitchen complex to serve as a hub for observational research studies, training workshops, educational video shoots and more. 

Maia Grace Solomon

Jun 13, 2022

Maia Grace Solomon ’25 Named to Caldwell Fellows Class of 2025

Maia Grace Solomon ’25 can now add “Caldwell Fellow” to her impressive résumé, which also includes LIFT participant, Teaching Fellow and College of Education Dean’s Excellence scholarship recipient. 

Patterson Hall on a spring day. Photo by Becky Kirkland.

Jun 13, 2022

Four Incoming CALS Students Named Park Scholars

The Park Scholarships program has named 42 students to its class of 2026 including incoming College of Agriculture and Life Sciences students Sydney Loflin, Eli Roberts, Caden Robinette and Karla S. Velasquez-Contreras. 

Students walking across the Court of North Carolina.

Jun 13, 2022

Goodnight Scholars Program Announces the Transfer Class of 2025

The Goodnight Scholars Program recently announced the 51 recipients from 30 North Carolina counties who were selected for its new transfer cohort of scholars. The transfer class of 2025 marks the largest transfer cohort in program history.